The SACE Board of South Australia is an Independent statutory authority of the South Australia Government, established by the SACE Board of South Australia Act 1983 and provides the South Australian Certificate of Education (SACE), to schools in the government, independent and Catholic sectors in South Australia, in the Northern Territory and centers across Asia.

The Minister for Education is responsible for the SACE Board of South Australia.

SACE Board is responsible for:

  • the accreditation of subjects
  • the recognition of learning and
  • the assessment of student learning that contribute to meeting the SACE completion requirements.

SACE is a standard, not a competition

The South Australian Certificate of Education (SACE) is a modern, internationally-recognised secondary school qualification designed to equip studends with the skills, knowledge, and personal capabilities to successfully participate in our ast paced global society. (SACE 2019). What is the SACE Board and the South Australian Certificate of Education (SACE).

Welcome to SACE for Parents

SACE Modernisation enables Learning at the pace of change.

  • The SACE has evolved to provide students with more flexibility to choose subjects that reflect their interests, skills, and career coals, using a combination of SACE subjects, vocational education and training (VET), community learning, university and TAFE studies.
  • SACE subjects are made up of investigations, performances, and other assessment tasks that enable students to demonstrate their skills, knowledge, and personal capabilities throughout the yer.
  • Some subjects will have an end-of-year exam worth a maximum of 30% of the overall grade. (SAVE 2019)

At PGHS we believe that EVERY ONE of our students CAN and MUST achieve their SACE.

What are the SACE Requirements?

  • The SACE is flexible, and your schedule may differ from your classmates depending on your career pathways and subject selection.
  • SACE requires students to achieve 200 credits in two stages usually over 3 years as the PGHS like most students in South Australia will start their journey with the Personal Learning Plan in Year 10
  • To complete the qualification, you will need to attain 200 credits from a selection of Stage 1 and Stage 2 subjects. A 10-credit subject is usually one semester of study, and a 20-credit subject is usually over two semesters.
  • Vet can also offer SACE credits
  • The two stages of the SACE are:

Stage 1

  • Begins in Year 10 with the compulsory Personal Learning Plan
  • continues through Year 11 with a selection of Stage 1 subjects, including the compulsory Numeracy (Maths) and Literacy (English)
  • Students receive a final grade from A to E for each Stage 1 subject and 10 credits

Stage 2

  • is usually undertaken in Year 12 with a selection of Stage 2 subjects in Year 12
  • Stage 2 compulsory subject is Research Project generally undertaken at Year 11
  • Students receive a final grade from A+ to E- for each Stage 2 subject and 20 credits

If something happens during your SACE journey…FAIR & EQUITABLE Assessment id guaranteed.

At PGHS we offer a plethora of SACE accredited Subjects and VET Courses

Recent News